Intriguing group matches in the Mayo Championship draws

Knockmore captain David McHale lifts the Moclair Cup after his side’s final victory over Mayo SFC against Belmullet last year. Knockmore has a tough group to negotiate this year as they go in search of a third straight title. Photo: Sportsfile

Defending county kingpins Knockmore will have to negotiate a squad that will include fierce local rivals Ballina Stephenites in this year’s Connacht Gold Senior Football Championship.

Group 2 also includes the East Mayo pair of Aghamore and Ballaghaderreen, and on paper it looks like a tricky section to come out of as Knockmore goes in search of a third consecutive county title.

Meanwhile, last year’s beaten finalists Belmullet are in Group 3 with Balla, Claremorris and Breaffy, while Castlebar Mitchels, Charlestown, Garrymore and Davitts make up Group 4.

Group 1 also hosts a local derby as last year’s intermediate champions Mayo Gaels are paired with Ballintubber, with The Neale and Westport in this group as well.

In the Egan Jewelers Intermediate Football Championship, Group 4 looks like a ‘killer’ with Hollymount/Carramore joined by All-Ireland Junior Champions Kiltimagh, Kilmaine and Kilmeena.

Group 1 includes Louisburgh, Crossmolina, Bonniconlon and Lahardane MacHales, Group 2 includes Ballinrobe, Parke/Keelogues/Crimlin, Kiltane and Burrishoole, while Group 3 includes Ballyhaunis, Castlebar Mitchels B, Ardnaree and Bohola Moy Davitts.

The composition of the groups for the exclusive TF Royal Theater Junior Football Championship is as follows: Group 1 – Moygownagh, Ballycastle, Eastern Gaels and Cill Chomáin; Group 2 – Ardagh, Ballycroy, Swinford and Kilfian; Group 3 – Kilmovee, Icelandady and Killala; Group 4 – Achill, Tourmakeady, Lacken and Shrule/Glencorrib.

The draws were made last night (Thursday) at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park, Castlebar.

Comments are closed.